My Flutter Journey.

My Flutter Journey.

A Ugandan's girl Journey into Flutter.

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

The first ever programming languages i learned were C then java respectively. At this time i had just gotten a government scholarship to study a bachelor's in computer science at Makerere University.

Prior to that, i had never heard of computer science or coding or software. But of course how the computer works or the TV always puzzled me.

As a young girl, i was very curious. Always asking why and how everything was working. Because of this i found myself doing physics ,chemistry and math which of course all explain the hows.

Fast forward into university, i was completely green about technology but i also am very ambitious and self driven. So i googled about computer science and what i found amazed me. I fell completely in love with the concept of computer science. How the computer works.

I set out to attend every event related to technology during my 3 years at school.I attended every training. This gave me a birds eye view around technology. But i also understood that it was too wide to learn everything and you couldn't be a jack of all trades.

Having a background in C and java alone.I could only do mobile app development at the time. So when i heard about the Google African Developer Scholarship in 2020, i applied and got in. I emersed myself in the content day and night but it was so overwhelming though i managed to reach the project phase. By this time i had learnt alot about android and how mobile apps work.

As i kept attending trainings,i also got into Web development Bootcamp in 2021 offered by Educating the children. And all my backend knowledge came from here. How to use nodejs and mongodb and making routes,JSON,APIs,postman.I later went back to facilitate about the same things i learnt.

In january 2022, is when i decided to learn flutter. My first project was a facebook clone. But after that project i realised how simple it was to set up tabs in relation to android with java. It was so intuitive and it blew my mind away.

That year we had the flutter festival in one of the GDSC events and hence my second project which was about how to use firebase as backend. With this came my third project which was a solution i submitted for Google Solution Challenge. An app to link donors to charity homes called GiveAway link to app.

After that i made a Rosary app link to Rosary App in flutter and continued with school while i made every project in flutter. I was taken.

In May that year i had applied to the Women Techsters Fellowship by Tech4Dev for the mobile developemt track. At this point i had decided to settle on mobile apps development since it is what i enjoyed most.The interview process was very competitive over 14000 people to choose from and in june i got an acceptance letter.

The trainings were mainly in kotlin and flutter. Having some prior knowlegde things weren't so difficult. I had to attend classes from 12:00 am to 4:00 pm every single day. But this is were i learned about things like state management, dependency injections,MVVM architecture, and many other useful concepts. At this point i was confident enough to develop flutter projects on my own and of course youtube and google.

Well the next step of the fellowship and my journey is the internship for mobile application development where i get to work on real production apps. I literally do it every single day and i love it. I have finally reached a point where i can write code in my brain and know what its going to look like. And to do it for web, mobile and desktop is an added advantage.

How i managed to achieve this in my last year of university and still be among the top students in class is still a puzzle to me. Kidding Of course its God.

Whats your journey story?